War Heritage Institute

Felix Nussbaum and the last convoy to Auschwitz

The Train of 1000, a joint undertaking by the Auschwitz Foundation and the War Heritage Institute, honours the memory of the 25.267 people deported to Auschwitz between 1942 and 1944. One of them is the Jewish-German painter Felix Nussbaum.

As of 1933 - the year Hitler rises to power - the artist has to face persecution and exclusion. After a long journey he hides in Brussels for many years, but he is betrayed in the summer of 1944 and ends up at the Dossin Barracks, from where he is deported to Auschwitz by the last train convoy. He is murdered on 9 August 1944. Shortly before his death, he paints “Triumph of Death” about the horrors of war and of Nazism.

Some 200 of his works are on display at the Felix Nussbaum House in Osnabrück (Germany), his home town. See Felix Nussbaum’s works on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pobQ44kmH1o #culturesurvivechallenge #TR1000

War Heritage Institute

Felix Nussbaum et le dernier convoi vers Auschwitz

Le Train des 1000, une réalisation conjointe de la Fondation Auschwitz et du War Heritage Institute, honore la mémoire des 25.267 personnes déportées à Auschwitz entre 1942 et 1944. L’une d’elles est le peintre juif-allemand Felix Nussbaum.

Dès 1933 - l’année de l’accession au pouvoir d’Hitler - l’artiste doit faire face à la persécution et à l’exclusion. Après un grand périple, il se cache de longues années à Bruxelles. Il est cependant trahi en été 1944 et se retrouve à la Caserne Dossin, d’où il est déporté à Auschwitz par le dernier convoi. Il est assassiné le 9 août 1944. Peu de temps avant sa mort, il réalise « Le triomphe de la mort », un tableau montrant les horreurs de la guerre et du nazisme.

Quelques 200 de ses œuvres sont exposées à la Maison Felix Nussbaum à Osnabrück en Allemagne, son lieu de naissance. Visionnez les tableaux de Felix Nussbaum sur https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pobQ44kmH1o #culturesurvivechallenge #TR1000