War Heritage Institute

Explore WHI - Arcade in 3D

Discovering the Military Museum is not only wandering through various galleries in order to analyse successive wars. It is of course much more, but do you actually know that? Visiting the Royal Military Museum also is enjoying a spectacular view over our lovely capital from the Jubilee Park arcade terraces!

Before experiencing this exceptional event, you are presented with unique collections of military objects, testimonials of a time in which war was fought with panache, with refined weapons and headdresses manufactured by world-renowned gold and silversmiths. A bygone era in which both music and the sound of cannon paced battles and in which spectacle meant to impress the enemy was as important as close combat.

Banker Georges Titeca and Count de Ribaucourt patiently collected sabres, copper items and souvenirs of war; today their collections are famous the world over. Wherever you look in this curio cabinet, you will find beautiful objects laden with symbolism: a Louis XV French Guard grenadier’s mitre or another used by the Prussian army of Frederic the Great, a Belgian grenadiers’ company busby, a French baton or a Prussian Guard hussar sabretache.

https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=eqJHKqpWGkt

War Heritage Institute

Explore WHI - Arcade in 3D

Découvrir le Musée de l’Armée, ce n'est pas simplement passer d’une salle à une autre pour virevolter d'une guerre à une autre. C’est beaucoup mieux, mais le saviez-vous ? Se rendre au Musée royal de l'Armée, c'est aussi pourvoir monter au sommet des Arcades du Cinquantenaire pour découvrir l’un des plus beaux panoramas qu’il soit donné de voir de notre belle capitale !

Pour vivre cette expérience exceptionnelle, vous traverserez de superbes collections d'objets militaires, témoins d'un temps où la guerre se faisait avec panache, avec des armes et des coiffes soignées, réalisées par des orfèvres de renommée mondiale, et pourtant utilisées au combat. Une époque révolue où la bataille se faisait au son mêlé des orchestres et des canons et où le spectacle prenait autant de place au combat pour impressionner son adversaire que l’affrontement au corps à corps.

Le banquier Georges Titeca et le comte de Ribaucourt ont ainsi patiemment rassemblé sabres, cuivreries et souvenirs de guerres, une collection aujourd’hui reconnue dans le monde entier. Où que vous vous arrêtiez dans ce cabinet de curiosités, vous contemplerez des pièces aussi belles que chargées de symboles: une mitre des grenadiers des Gardes françaises de Louis XV ou de Frédéric le Grand, roi de Prusse, le bonnet d'ourson des compagnies de grenadiers belges, le bâton de maréchal de France ou la sabretache des hussards de la Garde prussienne.

https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=eqJHKqpWGkt